REVIEW: Rimmel Wake Me Up Foundation

I think this would be my first time every reviewing a foundation product. I can’t really say I have experimented with different types of foundations from different brands as I am more of a BB cream girl.

I had been using BB cushions for a while until Summer had arrived and I decided it was time to purchase something that would suit my now slightly tanner skin. After seeing some favourable recommendations from beauty YouTubers, particularly Zoella, I thought I would give this product a try.

I purchased this at Priceline pharmacy for only AUD $20 which is quite a bargain for foundation.

IMG_1495.jpg

Key claims: 

  • Flawless natural coverage
  • Instant anti-fatigue effect

The foundation is contained in a 30ml pump glass bottle which I personally love as I feel the glass material just makes the foundation feel a little more luxurious. As luxurious at feels, the glass still makes it feel a little heavy which isn’t the best for travel.

This foundation comes in six different shades: ivory, true ivory, soft beige, true nude, natural beige, & classic beige. The one I own is in true ivory. I must admit the range is quite limited which may disappoint those who have skin on the darker side.

My only concern with this is that I had no idea I had purchased the same shade (true ivory) that Zoella currently uses and as a Filipino, I was quite baffled that this shade was a little too dark for me considering, Zoella is much more fair than I am yet it seems to fit her well?

IMG_1497.jpgThis foundation claims to reawaken the skin with a radiant, healthy glow.

It also contains a SPF 15 which is good as it adds a little protection to your skin. It’s not a lot but it’s better than nothing, right?

Ingredients list: AQUA/WATER/EAU, CYCLOPENTASILOXANE, TITANIUM DIOXIDE, GLYCERIN, TALC, ETHYLHEXYLMETHOXYCINNAMATE, DIMETHICONE, CRAMBE ABYSSINICASEED OIL, BIOSACCHARIDE GUM-1, DIMETHICONE PEG-10/15 CROSSPOLYMER, MICA, VINYL DIMETHICONE/ METHICONE SILSESQUIOXANECROSSPOLYMER, LAURYL PEG-9 POLYDIMETHYLSILOXYETHYL DIMETHICONE, DIMETHICONE CROSSPOLYMER, LECITHIN, PHENOXYETHANOL, SODIUM PCA, DIMETHICONOL, MAGNESIUM SULFATE, SODIUM CHLORIDE, DISODIUM STEAROYL GLUTAMATE, PARFUM/FRAGRANCE, UREA, CAPRYLYLGLYCOL, SILICA DIMETHYL SILYLATE, TOCOPHERYL ACETATE, ALUMINUM HYDROXIDE, POTASSIUM SORBATE, POLYQUATERNIUM-51, SODIUMHYALURONATE, TREHALOSE, GLYCERYL POLYMETHACRYLATE, DISODIUM EDTA, HEXYLENE GLYCOL, PEG-8, HEXYL CINNAMAL, DIPROPYLENE GLYCOL, LIMONENE, BUTYLPHENYL METHYLPROPIONAL, TOCOPHEROL, TRIACETIN, BENZYL SALICYLATE, LINALOOL, BHT, GERANIOL, ALPHA-ISOMETHYL IONONE, CITRONELLOL, BENZOIC ACID, SODIUM LACTATE, PALMITOYL OLIGOPEPTIDE, [May Contain /Peut Contenir/+/-:IRON OXIDES(CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499)].

IMG_1496.jpg

Unfortunately, I do not have a close up photograph of me wearing the foundation as lately, I have had to mix this with my Too Faced Born This Way foundation due to it being a little dark for me.

I really, really like this foundation. I think it does a good job at making my skin look more even and it doesn’t look too “cakey”. This foundation has a dewy finish which I am a huge fan of however, I would not recommend this for those who have oily skin. I must also add that this foundation also leaves a slight shimmer to the skin which you can’t see unless under certain lighting. It also has a really nice smell that I like but I can’t really describe. I think that this foundation is great for it’s price and I would definitely consider purchasing this again.

Pros:

  • Natural looking
  • Affordable
  • Contains SPF
  • Dewy finish

Cons:

  • Slightly shimmery
  • Limited shade range

 

Overall rating: 4.5/5

Leave a Reply

