REVIEW: Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder

This is my very first time reviewing a pressed powder ever so I’m quite excited to write this. After decluttering my makeup collection, I thought it best to purchase new products to replace the ones way beyond their expiration date.

I was previously using E.l.f’s pressed powder, however I have now moved on to Rimmel’s Stay Matte Pressed Powder. This particular powder was highly recommended by beauty YouTuber Jenn Im (clothesencounters) who I am a huge fan of.

img_1490-2

Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder

As you can see, the one I own is quite battered and used so I will insert a picture below of the original packaging as well as the shades. The powder comes in a round compact with a removable plastic lid. I find the packaging is really flimsy and can break very easily. Over time I found the plastic lid to become really loose and it can open on its own inside my makeup storage.

I believe I purchased this for $12 AUD which is very expensive. You can purchase this at your local Kmart or pharmacy.

This powder is supposed to minimise the appearance of pores while also giving a smooth and shine-free finish. It is best used for those with normal to oily skin.

As seen above, the powder comes in 6 shades: Warm beige, Peachglow, Pinkblossom, Sandstorm, Silkybeige, and Transparent.

I currently own Sandstorm. I originally wanted to purchase the Transparent one, however it was not available so I had to just settle for a coloured one. The shades are very limited which is kind of a downfall. I find that drugstore products always tend to fall in the shade range department.

IMG_1491 2.jpg

Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder

The powder itself has the Rimmel logo engraved on it which is a nice touch.

Overall, I really like using this powder. I apply this after foundation and concealer with a large fluffy brush. I pat the powder all over my face, especially my T-zone which tends to get a little oily throughout the day.

For $12, this powder does a great job at setting my makeup and keeping my face matte throughout the day. As for the pore minimising, I can’t really say much as my pores are never noticeable to begin with. I love applying this under my eyes because it works very well at preventing any creasing. Aside from the cheap packaging and the limited shade range, I have no complaints.

Pros:

  • Inexpensive
  • Prevents creasing
  • Sets makeup well

Cons:

  • Limited shade range
  • Fragile packaging

Overall rating: 4/5

You can purchase this product at the following links: PricelineChemist Warehouse, Coles

 

Leave a Reply

