REVIEW: M.A.C Matte Lipstick – Taupe

I have quite a good general understanding of M.A.C and the line of products they carry. However when it comes to actual experience? It’s quite limited to just their Prep+Prime Fix+ makeup spray which I have written a review on here.

This is my first time using a lipstick by M.A.C and I was super, super excited to use it. I had very high expectations for their lipsticks due to its popularity and long line of dedicated users.

I purchased this at a Myer department store for $32 AUD, which isn’t exactly the cheapest price for lipsticks but I was willing to spend a little extra for better quality.

IMG_2444.jpg

M.A.C Matte Lipstick – Taupe

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

M.A.C lipsticks come in many different shades, totalling up to over 200. They also carry different finishes such as matte, sheen, cream, satin, or even frost. Customers are pretty much given a large range of options.

I myself chose to purchase their matte lipstick because I’ve always been more in favour of matte finishes.

IMG_2445.jpg

M.A.C Matte Lipstick – Taupe

The shade I have chosen is called Taupe which is a muted reddish-taupe brown. I apologise because I am not the best at describing colours.

img_2407

M.A.C Matte Lipstick – Taupe

The lipstick is contained in M.A.C’s traditional and classic bullet packaging which I really like. It’s sleek and simple.

For those who are curious, this is what M.A.C has to say on the product:

“Formulated to shade, define and showcase the lips, MAC Lipstick is available in hundreds of hues and high-fashion textures. It’s the iconic product that made MAC famous.”

IMG_2447.jpg

M.A.C Matte Lipstick – Ingredients list

Right above is the ingredients list which I have inserted for those who are sensitive to certain ingredients and are curious to know what the lipstick contains.

The lipstick contains vanilla which would explain it’s slight vanilla scent.

I just want to say how much I LOVE this lipstick. It’s matte but it’s not drying at all and feels velvety on the lips and applies so smoothly. This has become my go-to everyday lipstick. It’s the perfect nude shade for my skin tone. This however, does require some touch ups after eating but that doesn’t really bother me.

Just a disclaimer, the picture above isn’t always what Taupe looks like on my lips because I occasionally wear a lip balm underneath that already has a tint to it but this does give a general idea of what it looks like.

I now buy into the hype and love this product gets. I highly recommend this!!

Pros:

  • Not at all drying
  • Applies smoothly
  • Doesn’t sink into fine lines
  • Attractive packaging.

Cons:

  • Requires touch ups throughout the day
  • On the pricey side

Overall rating: 4.5/5

Leave a Reply

