REVIEW: Benefit Roller Lash Mascara

Hello everyone! I FINALLY had the time to do another review which makes me really happy. Uni is actually killing me.

Anyway, today I will be doing a review on Benefit’s famous ‘Roller Lash’ mascara.

IMG_2202.jpg

Benefit Roller Lash mascara

I purchased this at Myer for $42 AUD because I was on the hunt for a new mascara. Previously, I was using random old mascaras that I had sitting on my makeup desk and I had decided (for health reasons) that I should probably get a new one.

img_2201

Benefit Roller Lash mascara

I actually love the packaging of this mascara. Pink has always been my favourite colour. Whenever I enter a Benefit stand, I find the whole place so aesthetically pleasing.

The mascara comes in a regular tube with a rubber handle which provides a better grip. The bottom half of the tube is made out of a shiny type of plastic.

IMG_2220.jpg

Benefit Roller Lash mascara

“It’s a roller for lashes! The eye-opening Hook ‘n’ Roll brush grabs, separates, lifts and curls.”

Key claims:

  • Satin finish
  • Water-resistant & easy to remove
  • Holds for 12 hours
  • Long -lasting curl

This product has won an award for the ‘Beauty Heaven Best Mascara 2016’. Many beauty YouTubers and personal friends love this mascara and are loyal fans. This raised my expectations.

IMG_2221.jpg

Benefit Roller Lash mascara

This mascara is available in two colours. Black and brown. I have the one in black. I’ve never been a fan of brown mascara.

This product contains provitamin B5 and serin which are known for their lash-conditioning benefits.

The image below are my eyelashes immediately after applying Roller Lash. Yes, I also curled my eyelashes. My natural lashes are quite a long length but face straight down so I always need to use an eyelash curler.

IMG_3890

My eyelashes after applying Roller Lash.

Roller Lash lengthens my eyelashes but does not hold the curl which disappointed me a little. I mean, Roller Lash makes my eyelashes look pretty good but I really want something that would hold the the curl. My biggest issue with this mascara is that it smudges! As the day progresses, the mascara slightly smudges under the eye and it annoys me so much.

This mascara does a decent job at lengthening my lashes but overall, I do not see the hype with this mascara considering how much it smudges and the fact that its unable to hold a curl.

Pros:

  • Lengthens the eyelashes
  • Rubber handle for better grip
  • Comes in two colours
  • Easy to remove
  • Does not clump

Cons:

  • Smudges under the eye throughout the day
  • Does not hold a curl

Overall rating: 3.5/5

2 comments

  1. Lol, I have the same problem of using old mascaras. I get so many in makeup subscription boxes; I can never seem to use them all up within a healthy time frame.

    It’s a little disappointing that this one doesn’t hold a curl, seeing as how it is marketed as a roller for your eyelashes… Do you have any mascara recommendations that do hold a curl?

    Like

Leave a Reply

